Mini Reviews – Owly, Goon Squad, Chime

Since I still have a few books left over to review from last year, I thought I’d go the mini review route again this week. I kinda like doing it like this!

Owly Vol 1 & 2
By Andy Runton

These are the first graphic novels I “read” on my Nook Tablet. I say “read” because these lovely little GNs don’t use many words. In the tradition of Pixar, Andy Runton says a lot with his characters actions and facial expressions. Owly is a sweet little owl just looking for a friend. All the other birds are scared of him, they give him a wide berth, and he’s feeling the loneliness. After saving a little worm from drowning and helps him get him, it looks like the same thing is going to happen again. Does he finally make a friend? I’ll leave it to you to decide. These 2 volumes were sweet little diversions that I know I will return to again and again for their uplifting and fun message.

A Visit from the Goon Squad
By Jennifer Egan

Oh my gosh, I have next to nothing to say about this hot mess. *gasp* I know. It’s like sacrilegious to say such a thing, isn’t it? EVERYONE loved this book last year! Well, obviously I missed something. Or maybe I should have read it instead of listening to the audio. I don’t know. What I do no is, I detested this book with every fiber of my being and that rarely happens. No offense to Ms. Egan, I did find her writing, for the most part, quite lovely. It was her characters. I don’t think I found one to simply LIKE. I did enjoy the music references. I found a lot of old punk bands to try out. And seriously, I love the cover. However, I think this is a case of “it’s me, not you” so I think we have to break up, Goon Squad. I just don’t understand you.

Chime
By Franny Billingsley

Chime has all the hallmarks of a great fairy tale. There (was) a stepmother. There are twins. There are spirits. There is magic. Witches. Fear. And the handsome young (princelike) dude who comes for the heroine to fall in love with and help save the day.

Billingsley took all those ingredients and turned them on their head, so to speak. At first, I wasn’t quite sure what she was doing. Briony is hard to read, her narration is just…difficult. Rose is hard to watch. And, as with all YA fiction nowadays, I feared Eldric would merely be a characture of the many other heroes who have come before him. Yet, by the end, I was completely engrossed, grabbed by the nosehairs, could not put it down, had to know what happened right now thank you very much. Ms. Billingsley, I was so wrong and I hope you forgive me because your book is freaking awesome.

Also, excellent cover.

13 thoughts on “Mini Reviews – Owly, Goon Squad, Chime

    1. Yay! Another Chime lover! I wish Billingsley would write faster. I've loved both books she's written so far. I'm so impatient. <DIV style=”FONT-SIZE: 10pt; FONT-FAMILY: verdana, helvetica, sans-serif”> <DIV style=”FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: times new roman, new york, times, serif”> <DIV dir=ltr> <DIV></DIV>

  1. Owly!!!!!!!!!!

    I love Owly! Whenever I'm having a horrible day, I just pick up one of my Owly comics. Makes my day so much better.

    1. Yay Owly!!! Yes, I'm kind of wishing I had my Nook with me today. I could use a dose of Owly. <DIV style=”FONT-SIZE: 10pt; FONT-FAMILY: verdana, helvetica, sans-serif”> <DIV style=”FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: times new roman, new york, times, serif”> <DIV dir=ltr> <DIV></DIV>

  2. You aren't the only one who didn't like Goon Squad. I've seen plenty of negative reviews for it. I want to read Owly!

    1. Whew! I feel better Kathy, thank you. 🙂 Yes, read Owly. He is sooooo sweet. I want to give him a snuggle. <DIV style=”FONT-SIZE: 10pt; FONT-FAMILY: verdana, helvetica, sans-serif”> <DIV style=”FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: times new roman, new york, times, serif”> <DIV dir=ltr> <DIV></DIV>

  3. Owly looks adorable! I'll have to see if my library has those books.

    I got about 10 pages into Goon Squad and then threw in the towel. I don't usually give up on books so quickly, but that one . . . let's just say I don't understand all the hype, either. Kudos to you for making it through the entire book!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *